Halfway to NoWhere

Ranting and Complaints of Life in Taiwan

Rally, Rally, Rally

Alright, I admit that not talking about the Democratic rally going on in the US. It’s actually a bit far for me to get myself on a plane and fly there (not to mention how much the ticket will wreck my checkbook).

However, as fate puts it, I’ve got a chance to see a ‘rally’ (or demonstration, whichever you prefer)  upclose, because the crowd walked right past my front door. So why waste this chance to try out some shots with my newly purchased Canon 40D? So w/o further ado, I grabbed my camera and my equipment back, and off I go, pursuing the crowd with my “camera eye” (or at least acting like a photographer/reporter).

Anyways, for those of you not familiar with Taiwanese politics, the purpose of the rally is to protest the current administration for failing to deal with inflation/bad economy/pro-China stance. The majority of the participants are from the green camp (‘Green’ in Taiwan usually refer to the pro-independent Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) which was in power for the last eight years but recently voted out of office; the other side – the ‘Blue’ camp – refers to the Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT) which is often regarded as pro-unification with China and currently in power through a new president).

For a rundown, here’s an article from Taiwan News: http://www.taiwannews.com.tw/etn/news_content.php?id=728055&lang=eng_news&cate_img=49.jpg&cate_rss=news_Society_TAIWAN

Since it’s a sunny day, turnout is expected to be high. Well, high means one thing – crowded. As I expected, by the time I got to main stage near the presidential building, I was sweating like a pig and rubbing elbows with people after people as I try to make my way through the crowd, trying to protect my precious camera by lifting it high above the air lol.

Alright, enough talking…. time for pictures:

Cop at traffic light

Cop at traffic light

The part that’s pretty tough for rallies is to get people through the narrow streets of Taipei. Usually, they would have the crowd mark on major roads such as Zhongxiao and such, but this time it was through the two-lane road of Taipei’s “Camera Street”.

Great Pic

Great Pic

I think this is probably the best photo I took today. Irony within Irony…

More crowds than I bargained for

More crowds than I bargained for

The street/road around the main stage is packed with people… making life hard for photographers unforntunate enough to be stuck in the crowd.

talking about bring fair

talking about being fair

This is one of the moment when you hope that the crowds would just storm up onto the platform and bring the reporters and cameramen down to earth.

 

Power of the media

Power of the media

Can someone tell me why there’s so many SNG Live broadcast vehicles on such as small island? It’s like we really have that many news to wager so much focus…

Gas Horns

Gas Horns

These gas horns should be made illegal. Why? Try walking through the crowd when the speaker on stage gets to a climax in his speech, and you see people around you gets ready to clap their hands and, god forbid, RAISE THEIR GAS HORNS.

 

Behind the lines

Behind the lines

A shot from behind the police barracade. You can see the armored buses parked in rows, showing the number of police on duty around the area.

The closest I got to center stage

The closest I got to center stage

Not even a chance. You’ve got people packed like sardines… and I don’t really feel like elbowing my way through the crowd, especially when a significant portion are seniors.

President's Office... beyond reach

President's Office far, far away

At a quiet corner of the demonstration (behind the main stage), a guy wearing a cap looks out towards the President’s Office. However, there’s no way to get past the barricade. IMHO, this picture is a display of many sentiments… probably a microcosm of today’s society in Taiwan.

August 30, 2008 - Posted by | Good excuse for photos

1 Comment »

  1. I like the last photo too – very symbolic indeed. 🙂

    Comment by Jonathan Wong | August 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

