Halfway to NoWhere

Ranting and Complaints of Life in Taiwan

Danshui, Biking, and Sunset

 

Sometimes you wonder if there’s anything worthwhile in the city you live in, a.k.a. new places to go, new things to do, or even new movies to watch. For a person that has resided in Taipei for the mostpart of my life, it wasn’t until today that I’ve realized there’s a lot more to this place.

A view from a park next to the Danshui River

A view from a park next to the Danshui River

 The place I’m talking about is Danshui. For me, Danshui (or Tamsui for readers who are older) has never been on my list of “places worthy of visiting.” In the good old days, I had no real reason to go out there – with the exception of visiting a relative who lived there in a house with a swimming pool.

This time, I had to go because it was a company outing (for my division). So after taking the MRT to Danshui Station, I walked into the summer heat with a bottle of water in my oversized pocket and a bag carrying my camera on my back. Well, it was much more beautiful than I’ve expected.

For someone who doesn’t ride a bike, the attraction of the riverside isn’t all that great. Unfortunately, out of the whole group, I was one out of two who don’t know how to ride a bike. Fortunately, some of the riders were kind enough to volunteer to act as nannies and offered to ride a four-wheel bike with us. Their kindness allows me to paddle away while keeping my camera handy to take some wonderful pictures of the area.

So without much ado, here’s what I’ve managed to capture on photo:

Here’s the “Old Street” of Danshui Town. There are many shops that sell goods dating back to our early childhood:

The "Old Street" of Danshui

The old street of Danshui

Here’s a look at the shops:

An assortment of beans

An assortment of beans

Here’s my favorite: old-style sodapop!

old-style soda

old-style soda

Took this shot as the store owner prepares the snack and puts them onto the sampler plate:

Store owner preparing the food

Store owner preparing the food

After a nice walk, our group boarded the ferry:

The Danshui ferry

The Danshui ferry

Bikers traveling along the riverside bike lanes on the Bali side:

Bikers passing by

Bikers passing by

Now, take a look at the bike I get to ride:

For the biking dummy...

For the biking dummy...

So after riding the bike for a good 30 minutes or so, we reached our final destination: the Xishanhan Musuem:

Structure looks like a whale-spine

Structure looks like a whale-spine

The best part of the trip: a bowl of shaved ice with strawberry and other goodies to cool off some sweat:

shaved ice

shaved ice

Now, on the way back, I saw this lamp post sticking out next to the dock:

The lamp post in the water

The lamp post in the water

and here’s the famous twilight view:

 

Twilight and old man

Twilight and old man

So here’s some of the impressions that I found at some of these scenic spots in the Danshui area.

September 21, 2008 - Posted by | Trips

1 Comment »

  1. Danshui is a pretty cool place to visit. And now with the mass transit it’s very convenient to go.

    The sights and sounds are even nicer at night, if I remember correctly. 🙂

    Man I want to go back to Taiwan again…

    Comment by Jonathan Wong | September 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

