Halfway to NoWhere

Ranting and Complaints of Life in Taiwan

Camera Show

Ad sitting at the corner of the hall

Ad sitting at the corner of the hall

Looks like there’s a camera show going on in Taipei.  

If it was me a few month back, I probably won’t even twitch my nose about this event.

However, a few short months has led to a lot of changes in my life. With the world economy taking a turn for the worse, why in the world did I pick up a hobby that’s only going to force me to spend more?!

What’s done has been done, so I really have no choice but to walk on. With my Canon weapons (albeit no good lenses) in my backpack, I decided to embark on the trip early Sunday morning.

The expo is held at Taipei World Trade Center Hall 3, and free admissions. As expected of regular Sundays, there was a huge crowd. Well, there’s even MORE crowd next door at Hall 1 where the Travel Expo is taking place.

Nikon Booth

Nikon Booth

For me, there were 2 things to do: first, get some pictures of the show girls; second, take a look at the new gadgets that’s hitting the market (especially Pentax’s K-m); and third, get my mini-studio.

Display of prize-winning photos

Display of prize-winning photos

Not surprisingly, the main camera companies (or their importer) were there. From Nikon to Lowepro, its like a heaven for camera freaks. For locals, its quite rare and far between to be able to see all the Lowepro bags at one place.

Sony's Alpha 900 and the show girls

Sony

One of the ‘treasures’ I found was the legendary Gitzo 90th anniversary Titanium + carbon graphite tripod (…though I wasn’t so thrilled with the price tag).

Gitzo Tripod - 90th anniversary Titanium and other goodies

Gitzo Tripod - 90th anniversary Titanium and other goodies

As for the show girls… well, took a lot of pictures, but most turned out fuzzy and blurred. The other problem was that I underestimated all the pushing and shoving to get the best position. Man, I still have a lot to learn about how to secure key positions during a photo opp.

The show girls for the Canon products

The show girls for the Canon products

At the end of the day, I picked up my mini-studio set which includes 2 lights and 1 mid-size studio box used for diffusing light onto the object placed in the center. There’ll be more of that in the later posts.

One of my better shots at one of the show girl. Ah, yeah, and nice camera

One of my better shots at one of the show girl. Ah, yeah, and nice camera

All in all, it was a fruitful day. The last day of the event is Monday, November 3. After that, its a good three-year wait for the next one.

November 2, 2008 - Posted by | Good excuse for photos

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

