Halfway to NoWhere

Ranting and Complaints of Life in Taiwan

Singapore Vacation (2)

 
A view of Singapore from the top
A view of Singapore from the top

Now, I need to stress that even though I stayed in Singapore for 4 days (from November 21 through 24), I was actually only there for 2 days.

Yes, 2 days only. On the first day, my plane left Taiwan at 4 p.m. in the afternoon. Due to some stupid delays, I didn’t arrive in Singapore until about 9’ish local time. Thank god Johnny and his wife picked me up at the airport and took this poor starving guy to the local bazaar for some nice Satay and sugar cane juice.

Of course, after all the munchies and photo-taking, I didn’t arrive at the hotel until the early hours on Saturday – which means Johnny went home even later.

The real tight schedule began on Saturday, because everything that needs to be done are to be completed in two days.

So the first thing on Saturday was to check out the venue of AFA 2008. Since the ‘main dish’ of the entire trip was the anime convention, we had to do that first.

The venue, much as what we’ve expected, was crowded with people even in the early opening hours. Fortunately, we’ve bought the diamond pass for the May’n concert, so we pretty much cut through the lines and obtained our passes directly from the counter and headed straight into the exhibition ground.

Overall, it was a very interesting experience. In addition to meeting a long lost friend from TAS, I also had a chance to see the legendary Mitsuki Ichiro as he walked by in the crowds. Damn… I wish I had the guts to go up and shake hands with him.

PVC vendors selling their merchandise

PVC vendors selling their merchandise

As for the rest of the venue, it was more like a toy flea market, with major PVC and figure vendors showcasing their wares. Of course, there’s the occassional display booths by the major PVC figure makers such as Kotobukiya and Max Factory, but nothing new or important. However, Johnny’s pretty happy with the finds (even though more of his damages came from a visit to a local toy store on Sunday).

The display of major PVC makers

The display of major PVC makers

Making the most out of my time, I asked Johnny to take me around Singapore and see how much sightseeing I could carry out in the mere two days.

The first major tourist attraction we went to during our short escape from Suntec was the Singapore Flyer. Even though the entire ride took around 30 minutes, it was well worth the experience. Seeing Singapore from far and above is quite something, and I definitely had a fun time scavenging for the angle to take some kick-asx shots.

A clear view of the Merlion from the gigantic Ferris Wheel

A clear view of the Merlion from the gigantic Ferris Wheel

After that, we went up to Faber Point and took a look at Singapore from its nature “high point”. Fortunately Johnny drove – otherwise I would probably be half-dead trying to get up that mountain. One regret I had was not having the chance to take the air cable car down to Santosa Island. Oh well, that leaves something to look forward to for next time. By the way, there’s also a mini-Merlion on top of Faber Point.

Looking out from Faber Point

Looking out from Faber Point

We also drove to another man-made island, but that place does not allow any photos (though we didn’t find out until later). First time I saw rows of yachts and massive open space. No wonder its a place for the rich and powerful.

After we went back to Suntec and enjoyed the legendary Anime singer’s performance, I managed to bully Johnny to take me to the Night Safari (Again, thanks to Johnny – its a great trouble for him to take me to the park and drive me back to the hotel, as the Safari is near his place, so he literally had to take me there and drive me back to the hotel downtown, and finally go home.)

At the Night Safari

At the Night Safari

The Night Safari was impressive, and gave me a chance to see some cool animals (the bests IMHO were the fruit bats and the flying squirrels, although I really could live without the Singaporean English guides during the tram guide). Unfortunately, my lenses were not good enough to take photos in the night, so no matter how hard I tried, all the photos turned out to be failures. Oh well.

Another interesting that took place at the park was trying out “doctor fish”. These were tiny fishes that swam in schools, and raid your foot when you put them into their turf. Fortunately they were no Pyrenees, but they nonetheless tickle my foot when they ‘feed’ (more like small jolts of electricity). Even though we sat for only 5 minutes, it was a fun experience. Maybe I’ll give it another shot next time I see the service.

As for Sunday, it was the day to hunt for presents and but souvenirs for fellow office workers.

We went from mall to mall, and both Johnny and I got PVC figures at one of the stores. We also encountered a car deco expo at one of the malls and saw a great selection of decorated cars, including Porsche, BMW, 3000 GT and some other awesome vehicles (of course, there were also show girls to go along with the frey).

A kick-xxx BMW

A kick-xxx BMW

After all the fun and May’n’s concert, it was time to go back to the hotel and pack.

As for sleep? I was there alone, so I dare not sleep – the taxi cab was scheduled for 5:40 in the morning.

It's six in the morning, and the sun is rising at the airport

It's six in the morning, and the sun is rising at the airport

Anyways, I had a great time in Singapore. I’m looking forward to going back there for the next AFA (hopefully) and go bug my wonderful friend again next year lol.

December 6, 2008 - Posted by | Comic and Game, Trips

2 Comments »

  1. Glad you had fun!

    It certainly was the most productive weekend I’ve had in a very long time.

    Changi Airport, East Coast Park, Esplanade, One Fullerton, Suntec City (twice), Singapore Flyer, Mount Faber, Night Safari, Kallang Leisure Park, China Square Central – I don’t think I’ve ever visited so many locations is just one weekend before!

    Comment by Jonathan Wong | December 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. I guess that’s a common problem for most people (including myself) – you’d never expect to find anything new or special about the city you live in.

    Same with me, but I guess taking up photography as a hobby does help to change things. In fact, I have to force myself to go out and visit different places so I can find new subjects for my photography training.

    Comment by ronderick | December 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

