Halfway to NoWhere

Ranting and Complaints of Life in Taiwan

New Gadget: Acer Aspire One 1410

The Acer Aspire - crimson red version

The Acer Aspire - crimson red version

I guess there is something new and catchy about this new wave of netbook products – first started by local Taiwanese
companies (the Eee-PC from Asus, to be exact). Not only are they cheaper than the ‘standard’ laptops, the netbooks
are also a LOT easier to carry around with you.

For me, there was several reasons to replace my previous 12-inch notebook Compaq Evo (anybody remember that machine?).

First, being of the old design (from the turn of the century, to be exact), the 12-incher is a bit clumsy by today’s standards. While it indeed was a top-of-the-line model in its heydays (cost me a grand NTD 65,000 – almost USD 2000), it tends to be a bit TOO big to carry around with ease. Therefore, it has been more or less sitting around the house in recent years because I’m just getting a bit lazy to carrying around.

The other reason is – not surprisingly – the lack of support for my former laptop. In fact, I was forced to replace my battery when the old one died on me a few years back. Unfortunately, even at that point, I had to visit the company which supplied the batteries (thank god that company is located in Taiwan) in person to secure a replacement.

Do I need a clearer message telling me to move on?

So I embarked on my quest to seek a replacement. Unfortunately, having left the market for several years, I wasn’t quite sure what to look for. I started out by looking at the laptops my friends and co-workers bought. Guess what? I found two of them using the Acer netbook. Even though one was the 10-inch version and the other a 11-inch version, they both vouched for the qualityof the device.

After a quick research in NOVA (THE computer product shopping mall in Taipei, second only to Guanghua Digital Plaza), I managed to secure one around NTD 20,000 with the help of my friend.

The Box holding the Aspire

The Box holding the Aspire

When I saw the box, I was amazed that it’s not just one of those brown-looking standard box to save $$$. At least I can
bring it home with ease, without all those weird gadget.

The keyboard - comfortable and not too small for a big man like me

The keyboard - comfortable and not too small for a big man like me

Alright, I admit I’m too old to buy a red one. But hey, why not try something fun once in a while? Nothing in the codes
that require guys to get blue or black PCs, right?

OK – here’s the specs:

–         11.6-inch screen
–         Intel Celeron Processor
–         6-hour battery
–         1.4 lbs
–         2 GB (buffed it to 4GB)
–         250 GB SATA hard drive
–         Vista Home Basic (this is the sad part)

Depending on individuals, you may think that smaller is better. For me, I think the keyboard for the 11.6-inch is bearable, but anything less will bite. That’s why I took this one instead of the 10-incher.

Being light and small, I was able to carry the netbook in a small pack – a perfect-fit bag I use to carry my A4 folders.

Anyways, this is a great product, and I definitely do recommend it if you are considering about netbooks or 12-inch laptops.

August 26, 2009 - Posted by | etc.

3 Comments »

  1. Acer Aspire One AOD250-1165
    This model is fairly new. So it has the usual features, i.e. built in wi-fi, camera, 160 GB drive, etc, etc. This is the 3 hr battery model. I have no idea where Amazon gets their tech specs. We just bought this and the manual states that it comes with 1 GB of RAM, and is upgradeable to 2 GB. It recognized 4 wireless connections in my area the instant it was powered on. So far it’s great for what it was bought for, the internet, small low demand games, music, simple word processing…

    Comment by boot | November 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. I think the one at Amazon is the model one stage earlier. The newer version comes with Vista (I wanted a XP-ready machine, but the ones they have in the store are all Vista. I bet its all Windows 7 now…).

    The friend who introduced me to this model bought his about two months earlier than I did (his model is the version that comes with 1GB memory upgradable to 2GB).

    After comparing the my model with my friend’s model, we found out that you can tell the difference simply by looking at the gap between the screen and main body.

    The amazon link shows clearly that the 1165 has quite a big gap between the screen and body when you put the screen up. The 1410, on the other hand, has almost no gap between the body and the screen (less than 1 cm).

    Regardless of the versions, I think the Aspire One series are great netbooks/notebooks. They’re not as buffed up as the standard notebooks, but they are perfect for traveling (especially for long trips… the room they take up is minimal while offering basic functions such as word processing and watching movies). For the money you pay, it’s well worth the price.

    Comment by ronderick | November 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. i would always prefer to use netbooks when i am on the move because they are so very convenient to carry around ;;`

    Comment by Benjamin Hall | December 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

